A Team Thyroid Tribute To Brooke

This is undoubtedly the hardest thing I have ever written.  On July 26, 2012, Brooke lost her battle to thyroid cancer.  I was introduced to her through Dear Thyroid where it took only a minute for us to become friends, even though she was only 16 at the time.  Brooke is the reason Team Thyroid exists although she was too sick to become a member when we started the site.

She was the most fearless individual I have ever come across.  She somehow managed to finish high school despite going through chemo and clinical trials.  I remember that she couldn’t even walk to get her diploma due to the foot sores as a treatment side effect.  And somehow, every month she managed a trip to the salon to keep her hot pink streaks in her hair.  Blessed with an amazing sense of humor, we joked about cancer and made plans for world domination over late night twitter chats.  She inspired me in so many ways.

We made a pact on the very first day:  I would take her to Vegas for her 21st birthday and we would celebrate Christmas in Rome when my cancer went into remission.  These promises kept us both going on the difficult days and I’d often post on her facebook asking if she was 21 yet, and she always responded that she’d get a fake ID so we could make it happen.  And yet, sadly, those milestones did not come for either of us.

So to mark the start of Thyroid Cancer Awareness Month, all the girls at Team Thyroid have dyed their hair pink for the day in an act of solidarity for our lost sister.

People aren’t supposed to die from “the good cancer”.  It is our mission during the month of September to share facts about thyroid cancer, our personal stories, and of course, a little humor.  We hope that you follow our 30-day journey and join us as we expose the truths behind thyroid cancer.

And please visit our thysisters at Dear Thyroid to read their special tribute to the amazing Brooke.

And Brooke, darling… I love you.  Not a day goes by that I don’t think of you and miss your spirit and warmth.  I promise that the world will know your story.

About Cancer Girl

Living with microscopic metastatic disease since diagnosed with papillary thyroid cancer, follicular variant thyroid cancer, and papillary microcarcinoma in the fall 2008; Chris has written for Dear Thyroid, Everyday Health, Lifescript, and Team Thyroid on what living the new normal means.

4 responses to “A Team Thyroid Tribute To Brooke”

  1. Shirley says :

    I have tried to type something, only to backspace it away, so I will say this, I HATE CANCER. I hope Brooke is at rest knowing how much she touched people.

  2. sarahyoung1119 says :

    Beautiful. Thank you, Brooke, for fighting. Because of you, another life will be saved. But I am sorry it wasn’t yours.

  3. Kim says :

    Brooke you are my hero! I miss you everyday as if you were my own child. My life was blessed for knowing you and hearing you laugh.You never let it beat you and you are dearly missed.</3

Leave a Reply

