A Team Thyroid Tribute

I cannot believe tomorrow is the last day of September and that Thyroid Cancer Awareness Month is drawing to a close. There’s still plenty of advocacy work to do, and my next stop is the ThyCa conference. It is our hope that this 30-day campaign inspired you to take a stand, gave you new information, made you laugh, and most importantly, reminded you that you’re not alone.

I want to thank everyone who went pink to honor Brooke and all our thyroid angels. The response was overwhelming and we loved seeing your pictures!

Also, thank you to those who donated to my fundraising cause and purchased Team Thyroid merchandise.

And, thank you to all of you who follow us on twitter, facebook, and our website.

I volunteered to do two tribute Saturdays because I knew exactly who I wanted to honor, but first I need to pay tribute to a cancer warrior we lost this week. Although she didn’t have thyroid cancer, she did have pink hair, including the day I met her: I had desperately wanted to attend my first cancer support group, but I was too scared. A total stranger, she met me at the subway station and walked me to that meeting. It may not seem like much, but it was part of the butterfly effect that made me Cancer Girl. So thank you, and rest in peace, Leanna.

Now, on to the real tribute, which has been driving the girls crazy with curiosity. Gibz, Nat, Mere, this is for you. I have watched the three of you become an amazing group of strong, out spoken women who not only advocate for themselves now but also for the community. It has been one of the greatest gifts in my life, not only to have you as my friends, but also to watch your transformations. You’ve gone from not wanting people to know you had cancer to facing the world with your heads high, your hair pink, wearing your Team Thyroid t-shirts. You three have proven to be just as crazy and passionate as me, and although that’s likely to result in a nuclear disaster, I am the luckiest girl in the world because of you. I love you girls with all my heart. You are my family.

About Cancer Girl

Living with microscopic metastatic disease since diagnosed with papillary thyroid cancer, follicular variant thyroid cancer, and papillary microcarcinoma in the fall 2008; Chris has written for Dear Thyroid, Everyday Health, Lifescript, and Team Thyroid on what living the new normal means.

2 responses to “A Team Thyroid Tribute”

  1. mereaaryn says :

    There you go, Cancergirl, making me cry. Love you girls!

  2. thyroidnat says :

    Cancergirl, beautiful post!! Much love to your friend, Leanna. May she rest in peace.
    And to the three of you, Cancergirl, Gibz, Mere…I wouldn’t be where i am today without you girls. I love you!! xxx

Leave a Reply

